Skip navigation

So in the june holidays, i went to art class and we painted 4 still life paintings in the month.

Title: Oil1

Medium: Oil on canvas

Size: 24 inch by 15 inch

Date: September 2010

Title: Oil2

Medium: Oil on canvas

Size: 24 inch by 15 inch

Date: September 2010

Title: Oil3

Medium: Oil on canvas

Size: 24 inch by 15 inch

Date: September 2010

Title: Oil4

Medium: Oil on canvas

Size: 24 inch by 15 inch

Date: September 2010

This was my first time working with oil on canvas. I really like working with oil paints on canvas because it kind of feels like spreading butter; the paint is so smooth and the canvas is made of cloth so it won’t break so easily. Normally when I paint with posters/watercolour on paper, and when i see some unpleasant part of my painting, i try to change it, but then the fibers might start rubbing off or the paper might even break. I know these mediums more of emphasize on the spontaneous part of painting, but i tend to dull over things unnecessarily. One painting took like 12 hours+ (?notsurethinkso) to paint, so i can brush over an area for as long as i want. I liked to paint the cloth parts , cause i can just draw the creases , slap on some paint and work on blending them together.

Also, you don’t have to wash any palettes or brushes!!! just soak them in turpentine, scrape the paints off your palette and you’re done! good for lazy people like me

3 Comments

  1. eh you paint so well.
    lol you spread butter a lot ah

  2. I think you display great skill in painting because I thought this objects were real and I really felt like eating all these food when I looked at your paintings. I also like your analogy about spreading butter but I don’t use knives to paint. Good job with the lighting and toning and shadows. And the creases of the table cloth look damn real. 你真的让我刮目相看 next time invite me to your wanghuahua so I can paint as well as you

    • 多谢夸奖。若王画画会再举行类似的课程,我一定会通知你。


Leave a Reply

